Tips and Tricks from Cambodia

Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review. Show all posts

October 17, 2017

It's been quite risky for me to drive all these years without a dashcam. With a dashcam, it helps reduce tension when a road accident takes place because we have it caught on camera. It's hard to argue if we are wrong when we have the evidence to support that we are right.

No, I am not going to talk into details about the benefits of getting a dashcam here because I believe that you are here to better understand about Transcend DrivePro 230 dashcam alone. 

Transcend DrivePro 230 Dashcam. One is for me, another is for my friend.
Today I picked the dashcam from ICE Electronics physical store for $150 per unit, a great deal indeed because at other computer stores or car accessory stores, it would cost $160-$165 while some shops did not have this recent model. 

I did a short research about other models and comparison before coming into a conclusion why I need this DrivePro 230. 

So, what's special about this model? 
  • It records speed that we were doing at the time of an accident occurs and this is important because we need to prove that we did not go over the speed limit. 
  • Everything is in the box, including the memory card, and the mount. Just do the unboxing and use. There is no need of a technician. You can follow the instruction to hide the cable. 
  • It has Wi-Fi live streaming from iPhone/Android Phone. We only need to download a "DrivePro" app and connect to the dashcam's Wi-Fi's default password "12345678". 
  • It has GPS Coordinates. Well, it does not mean that we are looking at the GPS from that small screen. What it means is that while recording the videos, it will show coordinates in the recordings.
  • It has Emergency recording button. Press the red button on the left, and it will start recording immediately. 
  • It comes with a free 16 GB Transcend High Endurance Micro SD card, enough for many hours of recording. Do not worry. 
  • It has voice recording during the video. So, whatever we talk in the car, it will record. Unless you want to record the video alone, you can do so as well. 
  • The video itself is 1080P Full HD. You can't expect such resolution from other Chinese made dashcams. 
If you are in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, you can go shop at a physical store. If not, be happy to shop from Amazon with the link below.

I will be giving more insight on the dashcam as my experience with it accumulates, below is the first video recorded and sent to my iPhone via built-in Wi-Fi.



I am not really encouraging you to choose other models, but of course let's see other specs if that fits your needs.

Transcend Dashcams Comparison Table



DrivePro 520
Buy from Amazon
DrivePro 230
Buy from Amazon
DrivePro 130
Buy from Amazon
DrivePro 100
Buy from Amazon
DrivePro 50
Buy from Amazon
Wide Angle Lens
Front: 130 ° wide angle Rear: 110 ang
130 ° wide angle
130 ° wide angle
130 ° wide angle
130 ° wide angle
Aperture
Front: F / 1.8
Rear: F / 2.8

F / 2.0

F / 2.0

F / 2.0

F / 1.8
Resolution
Front: 1080P
Rear: 720P

1080P

1080P

1080P

1080P
Free microSD Card included
32GB

16GB

16GB

16GB

16GB
Dual Lens Camera
þ








Snapshot
þ
þ
þ
þ

Lane Departure Warning System


þ






Forward Collision Warning System


þ






Parking Mode


þ






Headlight Reminder


þ

þ

þ


Fatigue Alert Driver


þ

þ

þ


Time-lapse Recording


þ

þ

þ


Wi-Fi Function


þ

þ

þ


Exclusive App


þ

þ

þ


GPS Receiver


þ

þ




Speed Alarm


þ






G-Sensor


þ

þ

þ

þ
Infrared LEDS
þ
Rear lens only








Built-in Battery
þ








Display Type & Size
2.4 " color LCD

Memory Card Support
microSD up to 128GB















































How to Hide the Dashcam Wire

After getting your dashcam to work, the next thing to do is to make it looks nice in the car. To do that, you can use double-sided tape or wire clips. For my case, I bought the wire clips as it did not come in the box.

If you wish to do that too, please purchase from Amazon with a link below.
After getting the wire clips, you can arrange the wire to the passenger side, hide it beneath the windshield and aside of car dashboard. Since I did not make a video tutorial myself yet, here you may see a temporary Youtube video below:

  

April 23, 2017

John Elliott Quarrie, the company formation scammer, remains at large

Reading to avoid this scam. Scam alert, people! 

This post will explain to you how I lost $500 to scammer John Elliott Quarrie and this post is to compile complaints against John Elliott Quarrie so that we together can file a complaint to UK fed.

If you are a victim of John's, please submit your evidence and all relevant conversation to vtconcloud@gmail.com.

By April 22, 2017, I have found two other people (Bony and Narola) who had been scammed by John Elliott Quarrie. 

How I met scammer John Elliott Quarrie: 

I had posted in my blog that I could help local Khmer people withdraw their money via Paypal since in Cambodian people can't receive and withdraw money from Paypal. I charge little % for that service. That scammer John Elliott Quarrie had read the service and sent me the below email on February 26, 2016.


After that email, we also chatted in Whatsapp and Skype, he tried to explain what he does for a living, then I got to know more about him, built trust and that's how I fell into his scam believing that this guy is real. He sent me a copy of his ID card matching his pictures, and I know his local telephone number and knew he stayed in Hang Tep hotel, in Siem Reap. So, I totally believed him.

Before that $500 transaction, he called my mobile number and asked me whether I could help him withdraw $500 daily or $6k a week and he tried to explain his business models. So, it sounds so nice well who does not want the % of $500 daily.

Lucky enough, I did the job only one time and have realized this is a scam. What John did was to ask me to request for payment in Paypal from Bony, who owns Tech United 247 and who later I realized was another victim of this scammer John Elliott Quarrie. Bony had to pay $1550 as a part of the agreement with John before offering service to John's company. $1000 was sent to John via credit card and $550 was sent to John via Paypal (my paypal account)

I requested for payment from Bony in Paypal as commanded by John. Bony then sent $550 (deduct $25 paypal transfer fee) to me and I forwarded $500 to John Elliott Quarrie via eMoney (local money transfer). Why only $500? Because I had received only $525 and I had to charge my % service fee and thus, I forwarded $500 via eMoney to John. John used the hotel manager to be the receipient of the emoney transaction. Thus, the Khmer hotel manager came to pick up payment from emoney and confirmed receive.

All was okay and looked like a normal deal I used to do for other people. It was quiet for about a week. Then, on March 9, Bony sent another email to John and kept me in the loop.

By then, Bony mentioend that John Elliott Quarrie had stopped responding to Bony, and Bony who sent me the $550 later filed for a refund in Paypal since John had scammed him. Not only this $550, but Bony also filed for a chargeback at his credit card company for his other $1000.

I do not mind Bony when he requested for a refund in Paypal, since he was also a victim and he just wanted all his money back. I explained to Bony a few times until he believed that I am not a scammer although I received money on John behalf and I only earned my % and I should not lose $500 for nothing. Bony started to realize that we are both victim, pitied me and promised to offer $200 to compensate my loss by John the scammer. That means I still lost another $350 as the refund was $550.

Since Bony filed a dispute in Paypal asking for a refund, it was taking almost 10 days before Paypal decided whom to give the $550. By that time, John still responded to me and asked me to wait for the result in Paypal dispute. He kept saying that he is not a scammer and would be responsible for my loss because it was his error. He would return the $550 to me. At the same time, he also tried to explain to me about his businesses and asked me to work for his LiveNews5. I'm pretty sure this guy only waited for another chance to scam me more.

I kept on chatting with John in Skype as I had to wait for Paypal dispute result. I also begged John to return my $500 in advance so that I could afford the expense of my family until the end of April. You see, I'm begging for my own money. I also mentioned that I would return John another $500 if I win the Paypal dispute and if I don't win, I'll just keep the money since he said he is responsible for his error, but he did not agree and asked me to wait for the Paypal result and report to him.

On April 20, 2017, Paypal released the result in favor to Bony. Thus, I sent two emails to John and also asked him in Skype. By now he does not respond.

So, John no longer replied to both me and Bony. Is he a scammer yet? Yes, he took my $500 and he was trying to take $1500 from Bony. Absolutely, yes he is a shameless 50 years old British scammer.

During my waiting time, I also did research about John and found a few notorious work he had done before.

1. Forming companies to scam your money:
By now I have to explain to you more about John the scammer and his fake companies. His scam involves forming companies and gathering investors or techies to pay for contracts before working with him. I also heard complaints that he asked other to work but did not pay for service. Only later that I realized he opened and closed more than 97 companies.

Flexyhotels.com is a website that will never launch. John would explain to you the details about flexyhotels by sending you a Word file and also ask you to read a post in LinkedIn and it is so detailed that it somehow grabs your attention. It also shows how it interlinks to his other businesses and prove that it's going to work and once in a while would tell you it will launch next week, and that next week a few more times to come. On February 27, 2017, he said this FlexyHotels.com would launch next Monday but it didn't, a few more times until April 22, 2017, this website never takes off although he repeated his shitty words. This website is probably only to wait to get more investors or scam more people since he also sells shares of the company.

Each company below belong to John and it has its way to make money. He tried to get me to work for his LiveNews5 and explained that I would earn $10000 a month. LOL He himself said he used to be multi-millionaires. Really. Just another shameless British hiding in a foreign country.

More complaints in online forums about John Quarrie. 
This name has been scamming since 2004. Well, I'm not saying this is the same John. It's just coincidence enough, John mentioned in the link below scammed through investment, asking people to buy shares which is similar to Flexyhotels's concept, and the name happened to be John Quarrie. Just coincidence maybe, you decide. You will have to read link below to see the scam.

http://www.talkgold.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7813&page=3

Below is another forum way back in August 2004. Again, I'm not saying this is the same John Quarrie, but it happens to be the same name and people in the forum did mention about OrangeCheck which was similar to above post. One user also talked about buying shares and refund the share. Basically, it's the same thing as what he is promoting these days with his flexy hotels. Probably, not the same John, you decide.

http://www.moneymakergroup.com/MoneyBucketBIZ-t2058.html&st=30


A comment I found under real John Elliott Quarrie's LinkedIn post
Article posted by John Quarrie and commented by Narola Manish

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/do-you-stay-hotels-looking-holiday-well-free-john-quarrie


I then added Narola in Skype and chatted to him. He still did not get his money from John Elliott Quarrie and that happened back then in 2014.

After all, these negative comments about John Elliott Quarrie, be aware not to get into business with this shameless British scammer.


Scam alert!!! John Elliott Quarrie, British, born on October 19, 1967. Last known location: Hang Tep Hotel, Siem Reap, Cambodia. His telephone numb: +855 9657 592 45

WhatsApp: +855 9657 592 45

Photos of the scammer John Elliott Quarrie:



Photo of him in Hang Tep Hotel, Siem Reap
His Google+, Youtube Channel, his facebook John Stockwagon, LinkedIn,
Email:  facebook@stockwagon.com, calljunky@gmail.com, Skype ID: flexymoneyworld
Rocket Holding Ltd


References:
John is still quiet. Not being responsible for the lost money. 

I sent an email to Hang Tep hotel last night providing this post link for him to read and explained about John's scam. I also gave them my phone number if they want to talk.

Today at 09:00 AM, the hotel manager called me and also told me that John has owed the money to the hotel as he's been staying but has not paid the room fee. The manager called the police to make an agreement that he has to pay before packing and leave the hotel. So, by now you know he's still able to scam more people since he is not in jail.

The hotel manager also said that now John looks half-wit and hang out with gay friends. He will definitely ask John to leave when he has paid up. And I also explained to the manager about John's scam and about two other victims. 

Well, John is heading to that direction. 

Today I also sent email to the UK embassy and also contacted them in facebook page. No response from them in the email, but I got response in facebook.

 


02/05/2017 Update:
John talked to me on the day I posted this post and he asked me to delete this post and he would consider returning my $500.

He kept saying that he did not scam since Bony did not give John any money as John did not receive that $1,000 via credit card. John did not know what a chargeback mean.
He needs to see a successful scam to call it a scam. So, here if you read, John, it is called a failed attempt to scam. It's still scamming people though.

John told me to revert the post and I did. I reverted the post to draft once again until Saturday, April, 29, 2017 so he could arrange money to pay me. I gave him that chance. I also told him I would delete this post permanently if he returns my money. By Saturday, the 29th, he did not return the money.

He asked me to wait till Wednesday, May 3rd, 2017, so here is his second chance to return the $500 that he took from me. If he did not, then this post is back live.

John who keeps saying he is not a scammer but never wish to return my $500 that he took.




22/05/2017 Update:
John sent me update that he would send me $125 two or three times, to make it $550. However, he did not send me a cent. Since the day I reverted this post into draft, he kept telling me that he would return my money, but did not do it.

He even said he gave cash to his friend to send to me via e-money, but did not. At the end of the day, scammer is scammer.




Update September 14, 2017

On August 30, 2017, I knew more people who had been scammed by John. John continued to scam more people. He did not pay his web site developer Mr. Kumar Pratik. He is supposed to pay Mr. Kumar Pratik almost USD 2000 in total, but Kumar got nothing. Kumar developed flexyhotels.com for John, but didn't get paid. His friend who developed site for John also did not get paid.




September 27, 2016

Look what I've found today! I found another victim through google search result when I typed "John Elliott". He changed the hompage of http://1dronepilot.com/ to this!

Funny, isn't it?



Follow by Email